Signal app safety numbers do not always change — here’s why

Bleeping Computer

This week, security researchers have steered attention towards an interesting finding while using Signal apps across multiple platforms.

When you or your contact reinstall the Signal app or switch over to a new device, the Signal safety number between you two may not always change.

The safety number is a feature of the app that helps users verify the security of their messages and calls with their contacts, and is typically expected to change when either party reinstalls the app or switches devices.

Full article